England Cricket
ICC Future Tours Programme 2018-2023
By Michael Norwood
February 2 2019

A World Test Championship and a 13 team One Day International league, are all in focus for England and other nations as part of the ICC's future tour programme for the next few years.

England Cricket supporters, and in particular those that like to travel abroad to follow the team, are in need of a tweaking of plans for the next set of FTP plans.

Outside of the protected Ashes series, there will be more 2 test tours, and a lot of simply one day cricket tours.

For example, England will see their normal 7 test summer begin to reduce from 2019, when a one off test against Ireland at Lord's, will be followed up with the 2019 World Cup, and then the home Ashes Series (5 tests).

A populated year, will then see them head to New Zealand again for just a two test tour, followed by a four test tour, three ODI's and a couple of T20's to South Africa for the Christmas and New Year Period into 2020.

Rather strangely, they are then due to head back to Sri Lanka, for what will be just 14 months since their last visit, for March 2020 and a further two test tour.

The summer of 2020, is a split of 3 test matches each against West Indies and Pakistan, although a ODI series against Australia is penclilled in between those.

The winter of 2020 then will see England head to India for solely a ODI tour, before the T20 World Cup in Australia gets underway in late October.

The structure of the men’s FTP (2018-23) includes: 

ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019 and 2023

ICC World T20 – 2020 and 2021

World Test Championship Cycle 1 – 2019-2021 (final 2021)

Cycle 2 – 2021-2023 (final 2023)

All bilateral Tests, ODIs and T20Is outside of the above competitions