Latest News:

Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

By Indian Cricket Fever
December 22 2016

Interestingly the voting period covered 8 Tests he played between September 2015 to September 2016... So the last 8 Tests against New Zealand and England were not even considered.  The mind boggles to think that his numbers in the last 8 Tests are actually much better.   Wow!!!   

R Ashwin has become the third India player and 12th player overall to win the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016.

Ashwin follows in the footsteps of Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010), while other recipients of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy include Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

Ashwin was also adjudged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, which has made him only the second India player after Dravid (2004) to bag the two coveted prizes in the same year. Kallis (2005), Ponting (2006), Sangakkara (2012), Clarke (2013), Johnson (2014) and Smith (2015) are the other players to annex both the awards in the same year.

“There are a lot of people to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special. What is very noticeable is the way I have bowled and batted and the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success.

“I’d like to dedicate this award to my family. I’d like to thank ICC and most importantly my team-mates. I’d also like to thank the support staff for our success. We’ve had a great transition ever since Mahendra Singh Dhoni hung up his boots. A young captain has taken over, we fell on the right track, and we now have a new bunch of boys.”

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson congratulated Ashwin, saying: “It has been a memorable period for Ashwin, whose consistent all-round and match winning performances have been reflected in the MRF player rankings. He is justifiably now being counted among the best spinners of his generation.

“To win both the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC Test Cricketer of the Year awards is a major accomplishment. Ashwin’s performances speak for themselves and he is a deserving recipient of the honours. I congratulate him on behalf of the ICC.”

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Indian Cricket Fever
Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Indian Cricket Fever (IP Logged)
22/12/2016 17:39
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017:03:28:18:20:21 by Birbal.

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Birbal (IP Logged)
22/12/2016 17:53
In the last 8 Tests (versus NZ and Eng) his record is 55 wickets and 377 runs.... compared to 48 wickets and 336 runs in the previous 8 (from Sept 2015-Sept 2016) which his award is based on....

With Bangladesh and Australia coming to India... he should be on track to keep up his hot streak...smiling smiley

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
round rock (IP Logged)
23/12/2016 12:11
Bangladesh has better batsmen against spin than Aussies. Also their spinners are better than Aussies'

Good thing is Aswin is being rested frm masala matches

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Birbal (IP Logged)
31/12/2016 02:34
which masala matches are you referring to?

I understand he needs to rest due to sports hernia...but if he was fit I'd love to see him play for Tamil Nadu in Ranji SF and even Finals...

As for ODIs...yes, he should be rested... no need to risk him in that MASALA format.

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Birbal (IP Logged)
07/03/2017 18:30
Now he is FASTEST to 25 Five wicket hauls... faster than Murali, faster than Hadlee, Warne, etc... what a bowler!!!

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Birbal (IP Logged)
28/03/2017 18:19
His batting fell off in the series against Australia...but not his bowling...

He keeps rewriting the record books...

Re: Ashwin Wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy
Birbal (IP Logged)
04/08/2017 16:46

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017:08:04:16:48:38 by Birbal.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing

Indian Cricket Poll

Is Extending T20I Status To All 104 Affliate Countries A Good Idea

See results > Submit >>