Latest news:

Champion of Champions Final - match preview

ETCC over the bridge

By Alan Rowley
September 16 2003

Eastwood Town CC is the venue for this season's Champion of Champions match which is an annual fixture between the title holders of the Bassetlaw Cricket League and their South Nottinghamshire counterparts. This year's match will take place this Saturday 20th September and will commence at 12.30pm.

Bassetlaw Champions are Retford who have won the title by a massive 63 points and have gone right through the league season unbeaten. Meanwhile, South Nottinghamshire Champions Calverton's 2003 season will go down as one of the most successful in their long history. Their First XI and Second XI both won their respective leagues in the South Notts Cricket League and the Sunday XI also won promotion in the Newark Alliance.

Bassetlaw & District Cricket League Champions - Retford

Retford were relegated from the Nottinghamshire Premier League at the end of the 2002 season and this was something that deeply hurt this proud club who have never been used to failure in their long and extremely successful history.

They were determined to show what they could do this season on their return to the Bassetlaw Cricket League and they have in style, simply running away with the title virtually from the start. At the beginning of the season, their main opposition certainly appeared to be Cutthorpe and this proved to be the case although their rivals fell away at the end of the campaign.

The first match between these two giants resulted in a winning draw for Cutthorpe in a very competitive match that could have swung either way. This was the only negative result for Retford in the league all season and they avenged this by destroying Cutthorpe in the return at Retford by nine wickets on Saturday 9th August.

This made it virtually game, set and match for Retford with five weeks of the season to go. Even though it was only officially confirmed at the start of September that they were champions nobody in their right mind would have given you any odds against any other side taking the title, because it was never going to happen.

The side has a fine sprinkling of stars from the local cricket circles and were captained this term by Steve Musgrove who has formed a dynamic opening partnership with Pascal Broadley which has yielded several huge partnerships throughout this successful season. This pair have been well supported by Nigel Hall, Henderson Jordan, Mikey Moseley and professional all rounder Steve Randall who has enjoyed a fine campaign with both bat and ball.

Paul Singleton has been their main strike bowler and he has done the business on numerous occasions. Pascal Broadley, Sam Shepherd and Steve Randall of course have given more than adequate support and the side never looked second best to anyone right through the campaign. Henderson Jordan is still as dashing as ever both as a batsman and wicket-keeper and the whole side bristles with class and confidence.

The Reford team will be:- Steve Musgrove (Captain), Nigel Hall, Pascal Broadley, Eddie Boyes, Paul Singleton, Sam Shepherd, Henderson Jordan, Mikey Moseley, Stuart Adams, Gary Toward and Steve Randall

Eastwood Town CC
Picturesque Eastwood Town Cricket Club

South Nottinghamshire Cricket League Champions - Calverton

The 1st XI having recruited four quality players prior to the 2003 season, hit the ground running in early May and maintained that progress throughout the season. Indeed, they were at the top of the league for the entire season except for one week.

The batting was given a tremendous start most weeks with openers David Fraser-Darling and Chris Miller enjoying ten partnerships of over 50, the highlight being a staggering 232 in just 35 overs against Eastwood. DFD went on to record three big hundreds during the season as well as numerous half centuries culminating in a batting average of 60.3, scoring 904 runs. Backed up by Mike Sewell & Pete Crawley, the batting remained strong for most of the season.

On the bowling front, the workload was spread around with five bowlers sending down well over a hundred overs each and two others sharing almost a hundred further overs. Pete Crawley led the way taking 31 wickets at an average of 10.9, supported by DFD (25 wkts), Darren Walker (24), Tim Haines (20), and 15 year old Matt Wright. In his first full season in the first team, Matt opened the bowling virtually all season taking 13 wickets at an average of 28.8, conceding just 3 runs per over.

Calverton will select from:- Derek Pickering (Captain & Wkt), Pete Crawley (Vice-Captain), David Fraser-Darling, Chris Miller, Mike Sewell, Eddie Lee, Rich Hunter, Darren Walker, Matt Wright, Tim Haines, Dan Holloway, Callum Jayes, Tom Hodgkinson

Hosts - Eastwood Town Cricket Club

Eastwood Town Cricket Club's ground is located on Greenhills Road, off the A608 Mansfield Road. From the Town Centre, turn right at the bottom of the hill just passed Durban House Heritage Centre. From the M1, travel through Brinsley and turn left along Greenhills Road just after Hayley Conference Centre. The ground is 100 yards passed The Palmerston Arms on the left hand side.

After turning through the driveway the ground opens up to a view over the fields of Redgate's farm, There is car parking at the rear of the pavillion and also around the boundary. The pavillion has a small brook running along the front and the unique 'crossing the bridge' when you go out to field/bat is something different from other grounds. There is seating at the front of the pavillion for great views of the game, and a large electric scoreboard keeps you informed of everything you need to know.

There will be an all day bar with cheap beer and a barbeque. Outlawed will cover the game in full with match reports, scorecard and pictures.

Thanks to Derek Pickering, Dennis Wright, Paul Barker and Jambrose for their help with this article.

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with: