Latest news:

Surrey Lions v Scottish Saltires Preview

By Jon Artman
May 19 2005

The Surrey Lions face the Scottish Saltires in the Totesport League 2nd Division. Surrey will be looking to rectify the poor start to the season and continue their winning ways from their C&G Trophy match. Surrey have had an average, if not poor start to the season. After the first match against Sussex in the Championship, everything seemed to go pear-shaped. In the first Totesport game, the bowling was poor and they yielded masses of runs against Yorkshire. That was then followed by a shocking loss to Bradford-Leeds UCCE. This really set the tone for the opening of the season. Durham then made sure that Surrey were still without a win to their name, thrashing them by 138 runs, with Surrey's hope;ess batsmen managing 86. Surrey then finally got their first victory against Glamorgan in the Championship, before just one more hefty defeat to Somerset. Surrey have got their act together to produce a very strong performance to beat the current C&G holders, Gloucs. Now, Surrey will be looking to show consistency against minnows, the Scottish Saltires. Since Scotland have entered the Totesport League, they have struggled miserably and are unlikely to do anything different this season. But complacency from teams has hit back at them and they have lost in embarassing defeats. The Surrey Lions should look to win against a team they should be easily defeating. Watch this space for all the news on the match tomorrow, throughout the day.

Team News:


Steve Rixon has named an unchanged line up for the match. The full team is:

Scott Newman
Jonathan Batty
Mark Ramprakash (captain)
Graham Thorpe
Ali Brown
Rikki Clarke
James Benning
Martin Bicknell
Tim Murtagh
Nayan Doshi
Neil Saker

12th man is Phil Sampson

Surrey fans are hoping that they can gain their first Totesport win of the season against weak opposition.


Craig Wright (captain), Yasir Arafat, Jonathan Beukes, Asim Butt, Cedric English, Majid Haq, Paul Hoffmann, Steve Knox, Dougie Lockhart, Dewald Nel, Colin Smith, Ryan Watson, Fraser Watts, Greig Williamson.

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with: