Latest news:

Yorkshire CCC, 2000-2010

By Gary Watton
April 29 2013

Yorkshire experienced a rollercoaster ride in the first decade of the new century. Twelve months after the county tasted its first championship success for thirty-three years, the first eleven were relegated from Division One whilst also winning their first one-day final at Lords since 1987. Promotion was quickly achieved, but it was especially difficult for the Tykes to achieve any consistency when such star players as Matthew Hoggard were frequently playing for England instead. Here was another 'crucial conundrum' for the white rose: whenever Yorkshire players excelled, they were summoned to play for England. Robbed of the contributions of their best players, the team was required to soldier on in their absence. One man who was a colossus for the county in this decade was the prolific Australian runs machine, Darren Lehmann. He shared in a fourth wicket stand of 358 with Michael Lumb in 2006 at Leeds against Durham which was a county record. Another milestone was a county record of 346 for the third wicket at Edgbaston between Anthony McGrath and Joe Sayers in 2009 against Warwickshire. Not to be outdone, Tim Bresnan and Jason Gillespie set a new county record of 246 for the ninth wicket at the Oval against Surrey in 2007.

County Championship positions

2000: 3rd (champions: Surrey)
2002: 9th (relegation); (champions: Surrey)
2003: 4th (champions: Sussex)
2004: 7th (champions: Warwickshire)
2005: 3rd (promotion); (champions: Nottinghamshire)
2006: 6th (champions: Sussex)
2007: 6th (champions: Sussex)
2008: 7th (champions: Durham)
2009: 7th (champions: Durham)

2010: 3rd (champions: Nottinghamshire)

2002 CHELTENHAM AND GLOUCESTER TROPHY FINAL; at Lord's; versus Somerset; Somerset won the toss

SOMERSET: 256 for 8 [50 overs]

Bowler c Blakey b Hoggard 67

Trescothick c Vaughan b Hoggard 27

Cox* lbw b McGrath 34

Burns lbw b Hoggard 21

Blackwell b Sidebottom 12

Parsons c Sidebottom b Hoggard 41

Turner c White b Sidebottom 20

Johnson b Hoggard 2

Dutch not out 13

Caddick not out 0

Extras: 19

Hoggard 5-65


YORKSHIRE: 260 for 4 [48 overs]

White c Turner b Johnson 12

Wood b Johnson 19

Silverwood b Johnson 0

Elliott not out 128

Vaughan lbw b Jones 31

McGrath not out 46

Extras: 24

Johnson 3-51

Australian Matthew Elliott hit 128 off 125 balls as he and Anthony McGrath shared an unbroken stand of 103 runs.


View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Yorkshire CCC, 2000-2009
Discussion started by Yorks Cricket , 29/04/2013 11:54
Yorks Cricket
29/04/2013 11:54
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing