Latest news:

Yorkshire CCC Captains

Anthony McGrath

By Gary Watton
May 26 2013

Here is a beautiful list which records all the brave captains who have steered the good ship Yorkshire through the turbulent high seas of English county cricket.

1863-1872: Roger Iddison

1873: Joseph Rowbotham

1874: Luke Greenwood

1875: Joseph Rowbotham

1876-1877: Ephraim Lockwood

1878-1882: Tom Emmett

1883-1910: Lord Hawke

1911: Everard Radcliffe

1912-1918: Archibald White

1919-1921: Cecil Burton

1922-1924: Geoffrey Wilson

1925-1927: Arthur Lupton

1928-1929: Sir William Worsley

1930: Alan Barber

1931-1932: Frank Greenwood

1933-1947: Brian Sellers

1948-1955: Norman Yardley

1956-1957: Billy Sutcliffe

1958-1959: Ronnie Burnet

1960-1962: Vic Wilson

1963-1970: Brian Close

1971-1978: Geoffrey Boycott

1979-1980: John Hampshire

1981-1982: Chris Old

1982-1983: Ray Illingworth

1984-1986: David Bairstow

1987-1989: Phil Carrick

1990-1995: Martyn Moxon

1996-2001: David Byas

2002: Darren Lehmann

2003: Anthony McGrath

2004-2006: Craig White

2007-2008: Darren Gough

2009: Anthony McGrath

2010-: Andrew Gale

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Yorkshire CCC Captains
Discussion started by Yorks Cricket , 26/05/2013 22:58
Yorks Cricket
26/05/2013 22:58
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing