Latest news:

Championship Successes, 1863-1949

Len Hutton

By Gary Watton
May 28 2013

In the good olde days of yore before pyjamas cricket or Duckworth-Lewis or batting with a helmet, Yorkshire was the colossus of county cricket. Here is a lovely reminder of those nice years when the white rose lorded it over all and sundry. All the County Championship triumphs post-1949 are lovingly located in the Fluctuating Fortunes section. Happy browsing!

1867 (unofficial champions) [the year of the Second Reform Bill which extended the electorate]

1869 (unofficial champions) [the year that Ulysses Grant succeeds Andrew Johnson as President of the USA]

1870 (unofficial champions) [the year of the Franco-Prussian War and the battle of Sedan]

1893 [the year that the second attempt at an Irish Home Rule bill was vetoed by the House of Lords]

1896 [the year that Yorkshire CCC accumulate 887 against Warwickshire, a still-standing county record]

1898 [the year that William Gladstone died, in other words a bad year for prostitutes]

1900 [the year that the British Labour Party is created]

1901 [the year when Edward VII succeeded his mummy, the late Queen Vicky]

1902 [the year that the Boer War ended]

1905 [the year when a Liberal government was formed after winning the general election]

1908 [the year that the Liberal minister Winston Churchill married Clementine Hozier]

1912 [the year that the Titanic was sunk, but Yorkshire CCC remained unsinkable] 

1919 [the year of the shameful British army massacre in Amritsar]

1922 [the year when David Lloyd George was forced out of his role as Prime Minister]

1923 [the year that Stanley Baldwin succeeded Andrew Bonar Law as Conservative Prime Minister] 

1924 [the year of Britain's first-ever Labour government]

1925 [the year that Herbert Chapman's Huddersfield Town held on to the old Division One title]

1931 [the year that Herbert Chapman's 'boring' Arsenal won the Division One title, having scored 127 goals]

1932 [the year that FDR won his first election to become the President of the USA]

1933 [the year that nice, broad-minded liberal Adolf Hitler became German Chancellor]

1935 [the year that Stanley Baldwin replaced Ramsay MacDonald as Prime Minister]

1937 [the year when those nice humble Aussies came from 2-0 down to win an Ashes series 3-2]

1938 [the year that Len Hutton hit 364 and Maurice Leyland 187 against our dear friends from Australia]

1939 [the year when the Nazis and the Soviets temporarily fell in love with each other]

1946 [the year when England travelled to Australia and got licked by Bradman and company]

1949 (shared with Middlesex) [the year that Scotland beat England 3-1 at Wembley]

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Championship Successes, 1863-1949
Discussion started by Yorks Cricket , 28/05/2013 08:55
Yorks Cricket
28/05/2013 08:55
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing